A Brief History of Michael and Catherine

Since I debut the Family Tree of Michael McCormack, I have been asked if I could give a brief history of Michael and Catherine especially prior to their immigration and tell what I know about them.

Michael and Catherine McCormack

Prior to the birth of his first child and son and subsequent marriage to Catherine, I don’t know anything about Michael. That is, I don’t have any documentation that states exactly where he was born or where he grew up. I also don’t have anything that documents what he did for a living. I have a few family stories but none of them have proven fruitful. Since he was married in Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, I assume that he was from somewhere in County Kilkenny. His marriage took place in 1853.

As for Catherine, here is what I know. I know that she was married once before Michael in Dublin to a soldier, I don’t if he was British or native Irish. That was 1849. Then I find her in Kilkenny marrying Michael.

Catherine’s first marriage

I don’t have any documentation for either where she born or where she was from.

I have listed a few blog posts that help detail the life and times of Michael and Catherine.

  1. Where Oh Where did my McCormacks come from?
  2. Mappy Monday – The travels of Michael and Catherine
  3. Mappy Monday – The McCormacks in 1900
  4. Mappy Monday – The McCormacks in 1910
  5. Happy Anniversary!

Those were just a few of the posts about Michael and Catherine. I would like to thank my cousin that requested something about our great-great-grandparents.

Thank you for stopping by and hopefully learning something new about the McCormack clan. If you have any further questions, please feel free to ask!

***************************************

Copyright (c) 2020, Jeff Ford

Leave a comment