Mappy Monday – The travels of Michael and Catherine

Today, for the Mappy Monday post, I would like to show the travels of Michael and Catherine, my great great grandparents. They started out in Kilkenny, Ireland and then traveled to Liverpool, England for the voyage across the Atlantic Ocean.

The travels of Michael and Catherine McCormack

The travels of Michael and Catherine McCormack

 

1. New Orleans, Louisiana – Nov 1853
2. Harrodsburg, Kentucky – Oct 1854
3. London, Ontario, Canada – Nov 1856 to Jun 1865
4. Ypsilanti, Michigan – Apr 1867 to 1878
5. Montmorency County, Michigan 1882
6. Otter Lake, Michigan – 1900 to 1913

Those are the approximate travels of Michael, Catherine and their growing family.

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Mappy Monday – The travels of Michael and Catherine

  1. Great research and map, Jeff! Do you have any info on what they did in Canada for those 9 years? (or during the time they spent in the south)?

    Like

    • Thanks, Mike! I am guessing that they were in Canada a bit longer than 9 years. I just said 9 years because that was when Edward was born (Nov 1856) to when Frank was born (Jun 1865). I also guessing now that they may have been in Canada late 1855 to late 1866? As for their time in the South. I would think that they didn’t spend too much time in New Orleans after disembarking from their voyage across the ocean. I would think that they went up the Mississippi to somewhere in Kentucky then headed east to Harrodsburg where Deliliah was born. I am now guessing that the rising tensions in Kentucky and the South “forced” them to leave for Canada. I don’t have much if any solid proof for what I wrote, but just a semi-educated guess based on the timeline. Thanks again!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Michael McCormack! | The Otter Lake Express

  3. Pingback: A Brief History of Michael and Catherine – The Otter Lake Express

Leave a comment