June Dates for the Clan McCormack!

My apologies for not writing any sooner. I would like to take some time to remember some important events and an interesting tidbit or two in the lives of members of the Clan McCormack for the month of June.

————————

1 Jun 1824 – Catherine Paine was born. I wish I knew exactly where she was born, but I don’t. When I started researching the McCormack family, I was told that she was born in Cork, Ireland. So far, I have not been able to find any confirmation of that story. She was married once before she became a McCormack. She married a man named Robert Steele in Dublin in 1849. In 1853, she married Michael McCormack in Kilkenny, Ireland.

Catherine McCormack

Catherine McCormack

3 Jun 1931 – Duane Harold McCormack was born. He was born in Ithaca, Michigan and his parents were Charles Harold and Pauline (Humphrey) McCormack. His grandparents were Henry and Minnie (Van Wormer) McCormack. Although the only grandmother that he knew was Henry’s second wife, Margaret Iseman Naugle. Duane was married to Patricia Anne Richards and the proud father of three children, one girl, and two boys. 

Duane McCormack

Duane Harold McCormack

8 Jun 1954 – Lois Muriel Baker died from cancer. She became ill while visiting relatives in Winterset, Iowa and later died in Flint, Michigan. Sometime during her childhood, her parents, Eldon and Anna Baker moved to Flint. She graduated from the old Flint High School in 1918 and from her father’s school, Baker Business University in 1919. She also graduated from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1923. That was a year after her husband, Merle Hemingway McCormack graduated from the same school. 

lois-baker-mccormack

Lois Muriel Baker McCormack

9 Jun 1964 – William Fred Crozier died in Ithaca, Michigan. He was married to Lucille May McCormack, the eldest daughter of Henry and Minnie Myrtle (Van Wormer) McCormack. This one picture that I have of him was taken at, what I was told, a Thanksgiving dinner with the whole Ithaca McCormack clan. He was the proud father of two boys. In the later years of his father-in-law’s life and after his death, he ran the McCormack store. I found one interesting story about Fred that I’ll share. I was looking through one of the various online newspaper sites when I came across a story that in 1938 on opening day of deer hunting season that Fred shot an eight-point buck. 

William Ted F. Crozier

William “Ted” F. Crozier

15 Jun 1956 – Lavina Jane (Hemingway) McCormack died at a nursing home in Argentine Township located about 20 miles SWS of Flint, Michigan. Prior to that, she had been living with her son, Merle in Flint. She was my great-grandmother and the widow of William. She was the proud mother of three children, Merle, Alta (my grandmother) and Ruth. She was also the step-mother of Grace Ellen McCormack, William’s daughter from his first marriage. Something that I like to point out (i.e., brag about) is that through her, I am related to the great American novelist, Ernest Hemingway.

Grandma Lavina

Lavina Jane (Hemingway) McCormack

16 Jun 1899 – Lois Muriel Baker was born. She was born in Peru, Iowa. Her parents were Eldon and Anna Baker. Lois’s father, Eldon Baker started Baker Business College which has now become Baker College of Flint, Michigan. She married Merle Hemingway McCormack in 29 Dec 1926 in Flint, Michigan. They, for reasons unknown, never had any children.

lois-yale-mccormack

Lois Baker McCormack

16 Jun 1972 – Charles Arthur Barnes died in Saginaw, Michigan. His parents were Charles E. and Marie “Minnie” (McCormack) Barnes. Information about Charles has been hard to come by.

17 Jun 1904 – Charles Harold McCormack was born. He was the youngest child and only son of Henry and Minnie Myrtle (Van Wormer) McCormack. For many years, he helped his father, Henry run his store in Ithaca. After his father’s death in 1951, he took it over. He was the proud father of two boys and a girl. 

C. Harold McCormack (B&W)

Charles Harold McCormack

23 Jun 1891 – Henry Peacock McCormack was born in Reno, Nevada. He was the only surviving child of his parents, John Michael and Gertrude Angeline (Peacock) McCormack. Henry would more than make up for being a lonely child later in life. After getting  married in 1914, he and his wife would have ten children. 

HP as a kid

Henry as a young boy

23 Jun 1936 – Lura Maude (McCormack) Palmer died. She was survived by her husband  Dudley Palmer and two young daughters. Lura was the middle sister of three, Mae, Lura and the youngest, Edna. Her parents were Edward James and Elizabeth Jane (Rohr) McCormack. Lura died because of a pulmonary embolism. 

Lura Maude McCormack
25 Jun 1912 – Grace Ellen McCormack married Alfred R. Coon.  Here are the two  wedding announcements that I  was given by someone a very long time ago.

Grace's Wedding Notices

Grace McCormack’s newspaper wedding notices

 

I don’t have any pictures of Alfred Coon and I have very few of Grace herself. She was alive when I was a young boy. I don’t recall if I had met her or not. If I had, I doubt that the meeting would have any future impact on my genealogy research.

Grace McCormack

Grace McCormack Woodbury about 1957.

26 Jun 1923 – Robert Orrin Addy was born. He was born in Battle Creek, Michigan. He “married” into the McCormack family. His mother was Frances (Foster) Beadle and she married Robert H. Addy after her first husband passed away. In the 1940s, Robert worked for the Farm Bureau out of Lansing, Michigan. This picture was taken when he attended college, Michigan Agricultural College

Robert Orrin Addy

Robert Orrin Addy

27 Jun 1995 – Margaret Williams Murphy died in Eau Claire, Michigan. She was the wife of Leon Ray “Doc” Ingleright II. I, unfortunately, do not have any pictures of Margaret.

28 Jun 1946 – Robert Lynn Asprin was born in St. Johns, Michigan. He was the son of Daniel and Margaret Lorriane (Coon) Asprin. She was the daughter of Grace Ellen McCormack. He attended the University of Michigan from 1964 to 1965. He also served in the U.S. Army from 1965 to 1966. I am not sure when he started writing, but he soon became a creative force within the science fiction and fantasy worlds. He is best known for his MythAdventures and Phule’s Company series.

Robert Lynn Asprin

Robert Lynn Asprin

29 Jun 1987 – Robert Orrin Addy died. See my narrative above for a partial story on Robert.

Robert Orrin Addy

Robert Orrin Addy

30 Jun 1937 – Lura Vae Addy married Hilmar N. Nilsen. I believe it was the first marriage for both Lura and Hilmar. Although I would suspect given Hilmar’s age that he could have been married once or twice before but I don’t have any evidence either way. I also don’t have many stories about her. The one story that I have is that she loved to raise golden or orange tabby cats.

 

Lura Addy

Jun 1865 – Frank James McCormack was born. To the best of my knowledge, all of Michael McCormack’s sons were born while the family lived in London, Ontario, Canada. I have a copy of his death certificate where the information was given by his former brother-in-law, Henry Franklin Baldwin that gives his birthday as 26 Feb 1867. In 1867, the McCormack family was living in Ypsilanti, Michigan where his two younger sisters, Maria and Katherine were born. When he became an adult, for some reason, he moved down to Kankakee, Illinois where he began to work for the Illinois Central railroad as a freight handler.

– – – – – –

I would like to remind everyone that there is a lot more to the people listed here than what I have written. If you have anything you would like to add about any of these people, please feel free to contact me. You can also talk on your own about any of these people that you know.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

P.S. If you see anything that needs correcting, please let me know! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

