More news about Arthur!

Hello, once again! I have more news about the bad boy of the Clan McCormack, Arthur McCormack. I hope you remember my post, “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!” where I talk about my great-grand uncle Arthur McCormack getting convicted for bribery. Just a little updater for some people, Arthur McCormack was an alderman in the city of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He had been a resident of the beer capital since the late 1880s and in fact, got married there.

As most everyone should know, before someone is convicted, they must be indicted. Today, I would like to talk a little about uncle Arthur’s indictment for bribery.

Arthur's Indictment

Arthur’s indictment announcement*[1]

Arthur was just one of seven people that were indicted that day and his legal problems were just beginning. As someone whose involvement with that side of the law has, fortunately, been limited to a few traffic tickets, I am not sure what motivated Arthur to do what he did. Perhaps he was just doing what might have been thought of as “business as usual” in some places. I also wonder if he thought the three tons of coal was worth the trouble that he was in and what was coming his way. One thing that I noticed and I hope you did too, is that this newspaper article isn’t from Milwaukee. The article that I found about Arthur’s conviction was also not from Milwaukee. One has to wonder why.

I will have more upcoming about Arthur’s legal misadventures in a future Otter Lake Express post.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something new and exciting today!

******************************

* Note: I modified the article to just show Arthur’s involvement.

Footnotes;

  1. Arthur A. McCormack, “Indict Seven for Grafting,” The Chicago (Chicago, Illinois) Daily Tribune, 12 Jan 1904, Pg. 4, col. 4, digital image, Newspapers.com, http://www.newspapers.com, accessed 6 Apr 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

