March dates for the Clan McCormack

I would like to take a few minutes to remember some important events and an interesting tidbit or two for the members of the McCormack clan in the month of March.

5 Mar 1944 – Hilmar N. Nilsen died in Big Rapids, Michigan. Hilmar was the husband of Lura Vape Addy, only surviving daughter of Smith and Delilah Elizabeth (McCormack) Addy. He was also the only Scandinavian member of the McCormack Clan. He was 79 years, 4 months, 15 days old when he died.

8 Mar 1868 – Minnie Myrtle Van Wormer was born in Milan, Michigan. Minnie was the first wife of Henry Thomas McCormack. This is undated picture of Minnie although I would guess that it was taken during the decade prior to her tragic death due to cancer. She was the mother of three children, Lucille May, Edith Marie and Charles Harold. She would be 149 years and 6 days old today!

Minnie VanWormer

Minnie Myrtle (VanWormer) McCormack

11 Mar 1916 – Kathryn Elizabeth “Betty” Coon was born in Dewitt, Michigan. Betty was the middle daughter of Grace (McCormack) and Dr. Alfred Coon. At the time of her death, she was married to Gerald K. Miller. She would be 100 years, 11 months, 26 days old today! 

Betty and Patty

Betty and her daughter, Patty.

15 Mar 1956 – Merle Hemingway McCormack married Margaret “Margo” Yale. They were married in Flint, Michigan. He was the oldest child of William E. and Lavina J. (Hemingway) McCormack.

merle-and-margo

16 Mar 1891 – Robert Henry Addy was born in Schenectady, New York. He was the only son and youngest child of Smith and Delilah Elizabeth (McCormack) Addy. His older sister was Lura Vae Addy. This is the only picture of Robert which was taken as part of a family reunion at his uncle William E. McCormack’s house in Otter Lake, Michigan. He was also married twice. His first wife was Addie C. Snyder who died of tuberculosis. His second wife was Frances M. Foster. I, unfortunately, have pictures of either of his wives. He would be 125 years, 11 months, 27 days old if he had lived!

robert-henry-addy

Robert Henry Addy

17 Mar 1908 – Margaret Williams Murphy was born in Berrien Center, Michigan. She was the wife of Leon Ray “Doc” Ingleright II (who was the son of Dr. Leon Ray and Katherine Fidelia (McCormack) Ingleright. She was the proud mother of two children, Leon R. Ingleright III and still living daughter. She would have been 108 years, 11 months, 28 days old had she lived this long! I have no picture for her unfortunately.

18 Mar 1905 – Delilah (McCormack) Addy died in Schenectady, New York. She was the eldest daughter of Michael and Catherine (Paine) McCormack. She was born somewhere in Kentucky. I’ve heard maybe Bowling Green or Harrodsburg. When she died, she was married to Smith Addy and the proud mother to two children, Violet Cassie Ingleright and Robert Henry Addy. A side note here, back in the early 90s, I actually met Violet Ingleright. I found her to a fascinating person. There is one mystery about Delilah that I don’t know will ever be solved. She died in Schenectady, New York but was buried in the Otter Lake Cemetery in Otter Lake, Michigan. Why? 

18 Mar 1899 – Edith Marie McCormack was born in Ithaca, Michigan. Edith Marie was the middle child and youngest daughter of Henry Thomas and Minnie (Van Wormer) McCormack. Her older sister was Lucille May and younger brother was Charles Harold. I love the picture of her below.  I wrote about it here. When she would up, she would spend some time in Okinawa. She would be 117 years, 11 months, 27 days today if she were still alive.

edith-marie-mccormack

Edith Marie McCormack



21 Mar 1956 – Elizabeth Jane (Rohr) McCormack died in Mio, Michigan. Elizabeth was married to Edward James McCormack, son of Michael and Catherine (Paine) McCormack. I have written quite extensively about her in part because I so admire what she accomplished in her life. When her husband Edward died, she was pregnant with their fifth child. The rest of their children were 10 years old and younger! She did not remarry and therefore raised three girls and two boys by herself. She also ran a general store for many years in Mio, Michigan. What really impressed me about her happened when her daughter, Lura Maude died in 1936. I wrote about that here.

23 Mar 1929 – John Michael McCormack died in Reno, Nevada. He was 66 years, 11 months, 17 days when he died. His wife was Gertrude Angeline Peacock, she unfortunately had died two years earlier. Their son was Henry Peacock McCormack. I wish I could add something new about John Michael because I think that I have written pretty much of what I have about him. What I could add about him is that he was a pillar of the young Reno, Nevada business community. Please use the search capability on the blog to find more posts about him.

This picture below is John Michael and someone that I think could pass as his twin brother. The picture of the man on the right was given to me by a descendant. What do you think, do the men look alike? Let me know.

A side by side

John Michael McCormack and his twin brother?

27 Mar 1943 – Dorothy Ellen McCormack died in San Francisco, California. I wrote about her death in my post, “Unexpected Finds.” One of the most saddening posts that I have written and one of the most saddening stories that I have heard. I don’t have a picture for young Dorothy so I hope that this works.

young-female-angel

26 Mar 2010 – Patrick John McCormack died in Houston, Texas. He died of brain cancer. Patrick was the middle son of Robert Michael and Jewel (Hassell) McCormack, who was the son of Henry Peacock and Ethel (Davis) McCormack. I met him and his lovely wife, Linda at my first McBash (the western McCormacks family reunion) in 2009. I wrote a farewell post for Patrick. I only got to meet him that one time in 2009. When he died, it was a big shock for me.

patrick-j-mccormack

Patrick John McCormack

31 Mar 1890 – William Edward McCormack was born in Lewiston, Michigan. William or Will, as I heard he was called, was the eldest son and second child of Edward James and Elizabeth Jane (Rohr) McCormack. I haven’t heard that he was named after his uncle William, his dad’s older brother (and my great-grandfather) but I think that it could be a fair assumption that he was. For a long time, he was involved in logging in the Bio area and also with the family farm. If he had lived to the present, he would be 126 years, 11 months, 17 days old!

– – – – – –

I would like to remind everyone that there is a lot more to the people listed here. If you have anything you would like to add about any of these people, please feel free to contact me. You can also talk on your own about any of these people that you know.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

P.S. If you see anything that needs correcting, please let me know! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

