Happy Birthday, Aunt Kate!

Once again, I am doing something I don’t like to do. I am going repost my previously  published post about my great grand-aunt Kate, but since I haven’t been able learn anything new and I do want to honor the memory of my great grand-aunt Kate. I do wish that I could have met her while she was alive and well. I wonder what kind of lady she was. Thanks!

*******************************************

Today is my great grand-aunt Katherine “Kate” Fidelia (McCormack) Ingleright’s birthday. Katherine was the youngest of 10 children of Michael and Catherine McCormack. She was born on 26 Nov 1870 in Ypsilanti, Michigan.

Katherine (McCormack) Ingleright

Katherine (McCormack) Ingleright [1]

On 19 Jul 1899 in Lapeer, Michigan she married Leon Ray Ingleright of Niles, Michigan. For most of the next ten years, she and Leon lived with her parents in Otter Lake. [2] Sometime before the 1910 census, her husband who was a doctor, got his own practice or joined one in Rose City, Michigan. [3][4] As far as I know, she and Leon had two wonderful children, Violet Cassie and Leon Ray, Jr. They were born in 1901 and 1903 respectively and both in Rose City. At sometime between the 1920 and the 1930 censuses, Katherine and her family moved to Niles, Michigan. [5] They and their descendants would make Niles and the southwestern corner of Michigan their home up to the present.

There is one reason that my Aunt Katherine is special to me. She and I share the same birthday. I was born 91 years after her. In fact, she was still alive when I was born. But my parents had no knowledge of her branch of the McCormack family.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

Footnotes;

1. picture of Katherine Fidelia (McCormack) Ingleright, , 2009, privately held by Jeff Ford, [ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE,] Lebanon, Tennessee, 2009
2. 1900 United States Federal Census, Otter Lake, Marathon Township, Lapeer County, Michigan, population schedule, ED 43, Pg. 7B, dwelling 173, family 173, Michael McCormack, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com, accessed 6 Feb 2011, citing Twelfth Census of the United States, 1900. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1900. T623, 1854 rolls.
3. 1910 United States Federal Census, Rose City, Ogemaw County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward 3, ED 38, Pg. 250, dwelling 3, family 75, Leon R. Ingleright, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, accessed 1 Dec 2012, citing Thirteenth Census of the United States, 1910 (NARA microfilm publication T624, 1,178 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
4. 1920 United States Federal Census, Rose City, Ogemaw County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward 3, ED 280, dwelling 54, family 55, Leon R. Ingelright, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, citing Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1920. (NARA microfilm publication T625, 2076 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
5. 1930 United States Federal Census, Niles, Berrien County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward 3, ED 12, Pg. 235, dwelling 71, family 84, Leon R. Ingleright, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, citing Fifteenth Census of the United States, 1930. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1930. T626, 2,667 rolls.

Leave a Reply

