Thanksgiving and the McCormacks

A Henry McCormack Family Thanksgiving Dinner

A Henry McCormack Family Thanksgiving Dinner

I hope everyone has had a happy Thanksgiving with family and friends. At this time of year, I often wonder how my many McCormack relatives of the past celebrated Thanksgiving. Especially a couple of Irish immigrants in the 1850s. After all, Thanksgiving is an American invention and Michael, Catherine and their infant son, William were new to America. From a story that I was told by one of their grandchildren, they were still speaking Irish/Gaelic almost 50 years after they got here. I guess after a perilous journey across the Atlantic ocean that they would have had plenty to be thankful.

The next McCormack family that I wonder how they celebrated Thanksgiving were the John Michael McCormacks. By 1890, John Michael was in Reno, Nevada and married. What was Thanksgiving like in the old West and in the last decade of the 19th century? I guess again by that time, Thanksgiving would have seem pretty routine.

Thanks for indulging me while I wondered what Thanksgiving was like for some of the McCormack clan.

Now I would to give thanks for all the McCormacks, past and present that have helped me in my seemingly neverending journey to chronicle the vast McCormack clan. I don’t like to name living McCormack out of privacy concerns, but every McCormack has contributed in some way to this effort. I think I have done this before, a huge contribution to the telling of the McCormack story was done by Leroy “Doc” McCormack. Although he didn’t personally help me much, he pointed me to others in his branch of the family that would.

I would also like to thank my parents.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

