More McCormacks in the Newspapers!

Hello, once again! Today, I have a couple gems that I found at one of the various online newspaper websites. As I said in my post, John Michael McCormack – Politician?, you can find so many things about your family in the newspapers.

This time, I found two clippings. The first clipping is an ad for the local gun club that my cousin, Henry D. McCormack, belong to.

GunClubMeetingClassified

El Dorado Rod & Gun Club Classified [1]

This second clipping is the results of the club’s pistol shoot show from July 1977. It features my cousins, Henry McCormack and Phil (I obscured his last name because he is still living). I shared this article with him earlier and he said that this goes way back and got him thinking on what he was doing that summer. At first, I thought the Phil mentioned below was his dad since he was also named Phil. He told me that he got into some “trouble” with the club elders for placing third in the pistol shoot.

Winners

El Dorado Rod & Gun Club pistol shoot results [2]

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something interesting today. I did!

Footnotes;

  1. Henry Davis McCormack, “(03) Meetings,” The Mountain (Placerville, California) Democrat-Times, 12 Aug 1983 (Friday), p. B-6, col. 4; digital images, NewspaperArchives.com (http://www.newspaperarchives.com : accessed 25 Apr 2016).

  2. Henry Davis McCormack, “Winners named in Rod and Gun shoot,” The Mountain (Placerville, California) Democrat-Times, 14 Jul 1977, p. A-6, col. 6; digital images, NewspaperArchives.com (http://www.newspaperarchives.com : accessed 25 Apr 2016).
One thought on “More McCormacks in the Newspapers!

Leave a Reply

