Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!

In my last post here on the Otter Lake Express, “A Glimpse into the Past”, I stated how much I liked that newspapers gave you a more in-depth look at the lives of our ancestors.

In today’s post, I am not talking about the AC/DC song of the same name, but an incident that took place in the life of my great-granduncle, Arthur A. McCormack. Arthur was the son of Michael and Catherine McCormack.

Arthur McCormack at the family reunion in Otter Lake, Michigan.

Arthur McCormack at the family reunion in Otter Lake, Michigan.

A few nights ago, I was on Facebook and I saw an ad for GenealogyBank. Afterwards I went to GenealogyBank where I haven’t been for quite a while. Once on GenealogyBank, I did my standard search for anything McCormack. After looking at several dead ends, I came to this;

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap?

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap? [1]

To summarize the article, Arthur was convicted for taking (very small) “gifts” while an alderman in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. In my take of the article, it seems that Arthur was known for taking small “gratuities” during his time as an alderman in Milwaukee. Currently, my research has Arthur living in Milwaukee from about 1887 to sometime in 1908 or possibly 1909. So sometime during this almost twenty year period, Arthur was an alderman. The article seems to suggest that he stopped being an alderman around 1902 or 1903. In 1910, I have him and his wife living in Detroit, Michigan.

In researching your family history, it is often said that sooner or later you will find something that you may not be proud of. I am not saying that Arthur was totally corrupt but that he was a partially flawed man.

I also think that this article opens up several research possibilities. I could research his political career or his legal problems.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something! I did!

Footnote;

1. Arthur A. McCormack,  “To Petty Graft, ” The Grand Rapids (Michigan) Press, 23 Nov 1905, pg. 3, cols. 4-5; digital images, GenealogBank.com (genealogybank.com: accessed 3 Oct 2015), Newspaper Archives.

4 thoughts on “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap!

  1. Pingback: McCormack family important dates for November | The Otter Lake Express

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! | The Otter Lake Express

  3. Pingback: McCormack family important dates for February – The Otter Lake Express

  4. Pingback: More news about Arthur! – The Otter Lake Express

Leave a Reply

