Happy Birthday, Alta Lyleth McCormack!

I would like to honor my grandmother on her birthday! I wish I could add more than I did here. Happy birthday once again Grandma!

***********************************************************

Happy birthday, Grandma! Alta Lyleth (McCormack) Ford was my grandmother. My grandmother was born on February 3, 1902 in Otter Lake, Michigan almost 2 years before her younger sister, Ruth (I wrote about Ruth’s birthday yesterday in the post, Happy Birthday, Aunt Ruth! Alta’s siblings were Merle and Ruth. Alta was the middle child. Here is the best picture I have of my grandmother;

Young Alta McCormack

Young Alta McCormack

I don’t know much about her childhood. However, I do know that she attended high school in Flint, Michigan. Flint isn’t too far from Otter Lake. I just wonder where she stayed while attending high school. I think she attended what would become Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Michigan where she became a teacher. That is a profession that she shared with my dad. On July 30, 1932, she married Aubrey Ford. She and Aubrey had three children; Nancy Jane, William McCormack and Richard Curtis. Sadly, my uncle “Dick” died in 2012. From what I have gathered from informal talks with my dad, my grandmother’s marriage to my grandfather was not very good. So in September 1954, she divorced him. It was funny because when I was growing up, we never talked about my grandfather. He was never discussed at my grandmother’s. I do have one story about my grandmother I would like to share. It must have been when I was 5 or 6 years old. We would visit my grandmother’s house in Garden City, Michigan. She had a squarish house. When I got there, I would ask either my parents or my grandmother to time me while I ran around her house. I would take off like a bat out of hell. Which for a little kid of 5 or 6 was pretty fast! When I got back to the “starting line” I would always ask the timer how did I do? They would always tell me “you ran faster than last time” or something like that. Little did I realize at the time that they were lying to me!  They never timed me! I am so hurt! Sadly, my grandmother died in May 1986 while I was stationed in California. I think because I was getting out in a couple of weeks, I couldn’t make the funeral. She is buried in the Otter Lake Cemetery in Otter Lake, Michigan next to her parents, William E. and Lavina Jane (Hemingway) McCormack. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something about my family!

Leave a Reply

