Census Sunday – My grand Aunt Grace in the 1940 census. Finally!

I finally found my grand Aunt Grace in the 1940 census[1]. I have been looking almost exclusively on Ancestry and forgetting about FamilySearch. Well, I went on FamilySearch last night and tried again looking for her. I was pretty sure that she should be in same general area that she was in the 1930 census[2] which was Clinton county in Michigan. Whatever I did, I just could not find her or her husband, Amos. I knew Amos lived in St. Johns, Michigan in 1942[3]. On FamilySearch, I found them listed as Woodburg and as Woodbury. No wonder I couldn’t find them. I never stopped to think to spell their last name differently.

1940 Census - Amos and Grace Woodbury

1940 Census – Amos and Grace Woodbury [1]

They were enumerated on the 19th of April 1940. Here is the portion of the census that we are really concerned about;

1940 Census snippet

1940 Census snippet [1]

Line #,  street name, house number, # in order of visitation, Owned (O) or Rented (R), abode value, is this household on a farm, NAME, Relation, Sex, Color of race, Age, marital status, attended school, highest grade, Place of birth, citizenship of foreign-born, residence in 1935, on a farm, work – private or public, public works program, seeking work, housework or other, hours worked per week, occupation, industry, class of worker, # of weeks worked in 1939, wages earned, receive $50 from other sources, Number of farm schedule.

1. 8, Dewitt (Dawitt – as listed on Ancestry.com),  , 138, O, 1500, yes, Amos Woodbury, Head, M, W, 58, M, no, H4,  , Ohio, x, same place, Yes,  ,  ,  ,  , 60, Florist, Greenhouse, 52, 0, yes, 105

2. 9, , , , , , , , Grace Woodbury (informant), wife, F,  W, 53 (actually should be 58), M, no, C4, x, Michigan, x, same place, No, No, No, No, H, , , , , 0, 0, yes, .

I really didn’t learn anything new. Most everything that this census tells me I pretty much expected. However, there is one thing that bears some further research. This census says that both Amos and Grace lived in the same place in 1935. This little factoid is interesting because, as far as I know, Grace and Amos were married in May 1937. I suppose that this means I have to send away for their marriage certificate to finally determine the actual date of their marriage.  I suppose that Grace and Amos could have been living together prior to the marriage date that I think that they got married on.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

Footnotes;

1. 1940 United States Federal Census, Bingham Township, Clinton County, Michigan, population schedule, ED 19-3, sheet 8-A, in the household of Amos Woodbury[g], digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com, accessed 23 Aug 2014, citing Sixteenth Census of the United States, 1940. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1940. T627_1743, 4,643 rolls.
2. 1930 United States Federal Census, St. Johns, Clinton County, Michigan, population schedule, Precinct 1, ED 19-20, dwelling 361, family 389, Grace Coon, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com, accessed 23 Aug 2014, citing Fifteenth Census of the United States, 1930. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1930. T626, 2,667 rolls.
3. The National Archives at St. Louis; St. Louis, Missouri; World War II Draft Cards (4th Registration) for the State of Michigan; State Headquarters: Michigan

Leave a Reply

