Found, the parents of Charles Arthur Barnes!

I am back! My work schedule has prevented me from posting much at all lately. I have blogged a couple of times (The search for the parents of Charles Barnes – An update and A death certificate dead end?) about my efforts to find the parents of Charles(Carl) Arthur Barnes whom I believe to be the second child of Charles Eli Barnes and Maria “Minnie” Bedina McCormack, my great-grand aunt. As I have mentioned before, I strongly suspected that Charles was the person that I thought he would ultimately prove to be. But other than a couple of census records [1][2] and a name “change” on a  State of Michigan birth index [3], I didn’t have much. I had his obituary [4], but that didn’t help any at all. I also got a copy of his death certificate [5], but that too proved nothing new. My one last try was to get a copy of his Social Security application form and see if he listed his parents as he should have. Almost a month ago on 16 Jan (2014), I got a letter from the Social Security Administration saying that they had my request and would process it as soon as possible. I would have to wait two and half weeks before I would receive my long awaited confirmation. On 3 Feb 2014, I received Charles’s social security application form [6].

Charles A. Barnes's social security application form

Charles A. Barnes’s social security application form [6]

As  you can see on lines #10, #11, it states that Charles’ parents were Charles E. Barnes and Minnie B. McCormack. Bingo! I pretty sure that I had the right person and the right relationships. To really solidify the relationship, I need to find other documents that prove the relationship between Charles and his parents. One such document that comes to mind is his birth certificate. I’ll have to get a copy of it as soon as I can. I would like to find other documents that do the same as a birth certificate. Btw, I wonder what Charles looked like?

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

Footnotes;

1. 1910 United States Federal Census, Ypsilanti, Washtenaw County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward X, ED 152, dwelling 276, family 281, Charles E. Barnes, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, accessed 2 Apr 2008, citing Thirteenth Census of the United States, 1910 (NARA microfilm publication T624, 1,178 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
2. 1920 United States Federal Census, Flint, Genesee County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward 1, ED 13, dwelling 212, family 252, Minnie Barnes, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, accessed 1 Dec 2012, citing Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1920. (NARA microfilm publication T625, 2076 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
3. “Michigan, Births, 1867-1902,” index and images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-267-11771-168820-24?cc=1459684&wc=10520118 : accessed 20 Feb 2014)
4. “Charles A. Barnes,” obituary, 17 June 1972, Bay City Times (Bay City, Michigan), page 3-B, col. 6, digital image.
5. Bay City, Bay County, Michigan, Michigan Department of Health, death certificate, state #34390 (local #D-1093), 19 Jun 1972, Charles Barnes, Vital Records Section, Lansing.
6. Charles Arthur Barnes, SS no. 367-01-9086, 15 Apr 1937, Application for Account Number (Form SS-5), Social Security Administration, Baltimore, Maryland.

Leave a Reply

