Postmaster as a family occupation – Father and son

As I noted in one of my previous posts, Michael as a postmaster, Michael McCormack (my great-great grandfather) was a postmaster in the Idlewild area of Montmorency County, Michigan. Today, I will show that for a time, at least, the postmaster was a McCormack family occupation.

I had known for a while, I think, prior to my active research that my great-grandfather, William E. McCormack, was a postmaster in Otter Lake, Michigan. Here is a newspaper clipping;

Postmasters Commissioned

Postmasters Commissioned [1]

Here is an index of postmaster appointments;

U.S. Appointments of U.S. Postmasters 1832-1971 For William E. McCormick

U.S. Appointments of U.S. Postmasters 1832-1971 For William E. McCormick [2]

William’s name is in the lower right corner of the document. I just wonder if there was some sort of official document that these people who were just appointed received much like the document you can get for some federal land grants. An interesting side note about William McCormack and his appointment as a postmaster for Otter Lake. I don’t know exactly where the post office was back when he was postmaster, although I suspect that it was in his store, today in Otter Lake the post office is right across the street from William E. McCormack’s house.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

Footnotes;

1. “Postmasters Commissioned”, Saginaw (Michigan) Evening News, 26 Dec 1893, pg. 3, col. 3; GenealogyBank.com, (http://www.genealogybank.com : accessed 12 Jan 2014).
2. “U.S., Appointments of U. S. Postmasters, 1832-1971,” database, Ancestry.com (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 12 Jan 2014), entry for William E. McCormack, 11 Jul 1893, Otter Lake, NARA Microfilm Publication, M841, 145 rolls. Records of the Post Office Department, Record Group Number 28. Washington, D.C.: National Archives.

Leave a Reply

