A death certificate dead end?

On Wednesday, I finally got the death certificate I ordered for Charles (A.) Barnes. Let me explain some. Maria “Minnie” (McCormack) Barnes had two children that I know of. The first, Harold Barnes, died as an infant [1]. Her second son, Charles, I last had located living with his mother in Flint in 1920 [2]. That however is tenuous. That’s because in that census, he is listed as a lodger and not as her son. So, I may not have Charles located in the 1920 census. Either way, after the 1920 census, I lose contact with him. In Charles’s obituary, no mention is given for any family. No wife. No kids. No family of any kind.

That is why I had hoped that by obtaining Charles’s death certificate that I would find out his parents.

Death certificate for Charles Barnes

Death certificate for Charles Barnes [3]

As you can see, the informant, a probably very nice man named Dale Theaker, didn’t know Charles’s parents either. I think my only option now is send in a request for Charles’s Social Security application. If not, can someone tell me what my other options are? I was just wondering if Charles left either a will or a probate file that might hold something?

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you learned something!

Footnotes;

1. Otter Lake, Lapeer County, Michigan Department of State – Division of Vital Statistics, 407 (Stamped), 5 Oct 1900, Charles H. Barnes, http://cdm16317.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/singleitem/collection/p129401coll7/id/782204/rec/8.
2. 1920 United States Federal Census, Flint, Genesee County, Michigan, population schedule, Ward 1, ED 13, dwelling 212, family 252, Minnie Barnes, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com/, accessed 1 Dec 2012, citing Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1920. (NARA microfilm publication T625, 2076 rolls). Records of the Bureau of the Census, Record Group 29. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
3. Michigan Department of Community Health, death certificate no. 34930 (local # D-1093), Charles Barnes (1972); Division for Vital Records, Lansing.

2 thoughts on “A death certificate dead end?

  1. Pingback: The search for the parents of Charles Barnes – An update | The Otter Lake Express

  2. Pingback: Found, the parents of Charles Arthur Barnes! | The Otter Lake Express

Leave a Reply

