Treasure Chest Thursday – A few of the McCormack Women

For today’s Treasure Chest Thursday post, I would like to share this picture that includes some of the children and grandchildren of William E. McCormack. There is a date of July 1916 written on the back of the picture. For a picture of almost 100 years old, it is in remarkable shape, I think.

Grace McCormack Coon and her family

Grace McCormack Coon and her family [1]

As you can see, there is some identification already given for the picture. I will give you a much better idea on who’s who in this picture. From left to right: Alta L. McCormack, unknown woman, Lura Grace Coon, Grace Ellen (McCormack) Coon and Kathryn Elizabeth “Betty” Coon. If you look very closely at some of the background, you will see that it matches the picture that I posted in my post, “A “New” Postcard.” I am not sure who wrote on the front of the picture, but I am thinking it was Grace’s third daughter Lorraine since I believe that I got this picture from Lorraine’s daughter.

Let me tell you about the women in the picture. Alta was the daughter of William E. McCormack’s second marriage to Lavina J. Hemingway. Grace Ellen is his first daughter from his first marriage to Lura Grace Roys. She sadly passed away in 1895 very suddenly. Based on the date on the back, the little girl, Lura Grace Coon would have been about a year and half old. Her baby sister, being held by her mother, Kathryn would be about 3 to 4 months old. My grandmother, Alta, would be about 14 and half years old.

I can’t say for sure, but I am thinking based on some of the information that I have been told is that this picture and the postcard from my post, “A “New” Postcard” is that this picture was taken in Dewitt, Michigan.

Thanks for stopping by!

Footnote;

1. picture of Grace McCormack Coon and her family, , Jul 1916., privately held by Jeff Ford, [ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE,] Lebanon, Tennessee, 2010

2 thoughts on “Treasure Chest Thursday – A few of the McCormack Women

Leave a Reply

