Treasure Chest Thursday – A Hint of Catherine’s Past?

For today’s Treasure Chest Thursday post, I would like to share a couple of items that I have found in the last couple of days. The first was a page (index) from the Calendar of Wills and Administration from the National Archives in Ireland.

Robert Payne

Robert Payne [1]

If you remember the naturalization record that I posted about in “The Case of the “Missing” Brother” it stated the birthplace of William Payne, the man that I think could be Catherine’s brother.  Also, from other documents that I have, I know that her father’s first name was Robert. Imagine my “glee” when I found the above document!  Since this Robert was a shopkeeper, it would explain William’s profession as it was listed in either the 1850, 1860 or 1870 census. This page also told us the name of Robert’s wife which could be or could not be the name of Catherine’s mother.

Last night, I went looking for some supporting documents if I could find any. The first place I looked was FamilySearch.org. I did find a transcription of the death of a Robert Payne [2]. The birthplace was good, Bandon, Ireland. The same place as the birth of the William Payne of the naturalization record. The age of this second Robert was 28 and therefore could not Catherine’s father. Possibly a much younger brother or some other relative. So the document from FamilySearch tempered my enthusiasm a bit.

Whatever I have found only shows me that I still have LOTS to do. I really haven’t proved anything. I have a couple of good hints or clues to work from.

Thanks for stopping by!

Footnotes;

1. Calendars of Wills and Administrations, National Archives of Ireland, search conditions of “Robert” “Payne” “Cork”, http://tinyurl.com/kevl2l3
2. “Ireland, Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958,” index, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/FRRY-VZL : accessed 18 Jul 2013), Robert Payne, 1870; citing vol. 15, p. 3, General Registry, Custom House, Dublin, Ireland; FHL microfilm 101585.

Leave a Reply

