Wednesday’s Child – Alice McCormack

Today, I would like to honor someone that didn’t live long. In fact, she really didn’t live. I have a record of her birth/death, but at this time I can’t find it. I thought I had it scanned. But I digress!

The child that I would like to honor today is Alice McCormack [1], daughter of Arthur and Elizabeth Petronella (Dornauf) McCormack, my great grand uncle and aunt. She was born 16 Jan 1896 and died the same day. I seem to remember that she was a stillbirth. Her mother, on the 1900 Census [2], was identified as the mother of 4 children of which none survived to be documented on the census. Elizabeth must have been devastated after all that.

God Bless you Alice and Elizabeth.

Footnote;
1. “Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968,” index, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/XLC3-1QX : accessed 15 July 2012), Alice R. Mccormack, 1896.

2. 1900 United States Federal Census, Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, Wisconsin, population schedule, Ward 7, ED 46, dwelling 176, family 211, Arthur A. McCormack, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com, accessed 4 Jan 2008, citing Twelfth Census of the United States, 1900. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1900. T623, 1854 rolls.

Leave a Reply

