My Brickwall marriage

This is one of my most frustrating brickwalls! I am talking about the marriage of my great grand uncle Arthur A. McCormack and his wife, Elizabeth Petronella Dornauf. Arthur was one of Michael’s sons and my great grandfather’s, William, younger brothers. Btw, this picture was taken from the McCormack reunion.

Arthur and Elizabeth McCormack

Arthur and Elizabeth McCormack

All I have about their marriage is what I got from the 1900 United States Census.

1900 United States Census

1900 United States Census [1]

Here is the section of the census specific to Arthur and Elizabeth;

Arthur & Elizabeth's enumeration

Arthur & Elizabeth’s enumeration

That red circle is one of my three proofs of their marriage. The two men below Elizabeth’s enumeration line I believe are her younger brothers. I haven’t had much luck at all in following them. I have tried every marriage collection at Ancestry.com, FamilySearch.org and the Wisconsin Genealogy  index at the Wisconsin Historical Society until I am almost blue in the face. I am not sure what else to try. I have tried looking for either man at the Wisconsin Genealogy Index, but have found nothing. There is a family “rumor” that Arthur was to be raised as a Catholic, but was the only one of Michael’s sons to remain as a Catholic because he married a Catholic. Sadly, I have no proof of either the marriage, Arthur being raised as a Catholic or that Elizabeth was a Catholic. I am not sure on what avenue I should try next.

Footnote(s)

1. 1900 United States Federal Census, Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, Wisconsin, population schedule, Ward 7, ED 46, dwelling 176, family 211, Arthur A. McCormack, digital image, Ancestry.com, http://search.ancestry.com, accessed 4 Jan 2008, citing Twelfth Census of the United States, 1900. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1900. T623, 1854 rolls.

Leave a Reply

